Top College News Subscribe to the Newsletter

2010 staff awards

Published: Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Updated: Wednesday, July 25, 2012 21:07

The Battalion staff awards

The Battalion

2010 Staff Awards


Photos by J.D. Swiger — THE BATTALION

Senior joker Von Miller is overcome by emotion after the Aggies’ win.

The Battalion received the Sweepstakes Award for the first time at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association against eight other universities in the division, including Big 12 rivals Baylor and Texas Tech. The Battalion team received awards in most of the categories at the convention April 2 in Fort Worth, Texas. The Battalion is a part of Division 1 that includes newspapers that are published three or more times per week.

Amanda Casanova, 2009-2010 Battalion editor-in-chief, said the recognition is evidence of a team that cares about the newspaper's quality and topics that interest the student body. "I think the award is a testament to the dedication of the staff," she said. "We were not chasing an award, but it's a great thing for us to be proud of."

The Sweepstakes Award is presented in each newspaper division and is based on point accumulation in the individual and overall contests. The Battalion led its division with a total of 71 points. Categories included editorial, in-depth reporting, news photo, page one design and others.

"I have always boasted about this staff, and I'm glad to see other people recognizing them for their superb work. It was a great honor to receive the prestigious sweepstakes award for The Battalion's first time," 2010-2011 Battalion editor in chief, Matthew Woolbright said. "Amanda started our campaign on the right foot and we were able to continue the excellence. I'm excited to see this team continue to get accolades for their skills and efforts; these individuals are destined for greatness."

Two staff members received national recognition for individual design work in the Associated Collegiate Press 2010 Newspaper Pacemaker Award. JD Swiger and Evan Andrews were awarded for their design work on Page One, Implications of Social Networking. The Design of the Year competition, honoring visual excellence in the college press, is co-sponsored by Adobe Systems. First Place winners received free Adobe software.

First place

JD Swiger   

Sports feature photo Wrecking Crew: ‘for the seniors'
First place Beau Holder & Sean Lester Sports news Coaching Constraints
First place Stephen Olmon Sports action photo Barely holding on
First place JD Swiger & Evan Andrews Page one design

Implications of social networking

First place Ian McPhail Opinion page design Listening to a legend (Steven Hawking)
First place Evan Andrews Editorial cartoon The price of free speech
First place Osa Okundaye Illustration Fast food fight
First place Nicholas Badger & Evan Andrews Photo illustration E plurivus unum ... 'out of many, one'
Second place  Luz Moreno-Lozano News feature

Revisiting the Stack

Second place 

Brad Cox

Sports feature

Saving Face

Second place David Harris Sports column  

The Return

Second place Brad Cox Sports page design Baseball preview
Third place Jeremy Northum General column

Center yourself

Third place

Robert Carpenter

In-depth reporting The ethics of diversity
Third place staff Picture story Shack-a-thon Homemade habitats
Honorable mention Joe Terrell Critical review

Soul Music

Honorable mention Kyle Cunningham  Sports feature story  The ‘foot' in football
Honorable mention JD Swiger & Evan Andrews Headline Implications of social networking
Honorable mention staff Editorial Shooting raises alarm, disarm campuses
Honorable mention Katie White Feature story Unlocking identities
Honorable mention Matt Woolbright News photo   Aggieland locked down

Recommended: Articles that may interest you

Be the first to comment on this article! Log in to Comment

You must be logged in to comment on an article. Not already a member? Register now

Log In