Top College News Subscribe to the Newsletter

2009 awards

Covering Texas A&M

Published: Thursday, May 20, 2010

Updated: Wednesday, July 25, 2012 21:07

weathering the storm, hurricane ike

The Battalion

Weathering the storm, Hurricane Ike

Qatar campus issue

The Battalion

Qatar campus issue

2009 summer team

The Battalion

The 2009 summer team


The Battalion

Kevin Alexander, class of 2009, 1st place in In-depth reporting, Shattered life April 28-29

Best of Collegiate Design Awards

Staff members from the fall 2008 - spring 2009 enterprise team won second place for the coverage of Texas A&M Galveston campus and Hurricane Ike in the Best of Collegiate Design Awards given by College Media Advisers.

Doug Klembara, Aggieland photo chief, won third place for his unique cover on the Qatar campus issue.

Mark of Excellence Award

Kevin Alexander, class of 2009, was a finalist for the Society of Professional Journalist's Mark of Excellence Award for his coverage of Weathering the Storm, Hurricane Ike.


Associated Collegiate Press 2009 individual awards

Stephen Fogg, class of 2009, and Chris Griffin received Associated Collegiate Press 2009 individual awards in October 2009 at the National Convention in Austin. The awards are considered to be the highest national honors for student journalists. Fogg, from The Woodlands, won honorable mention in the picture story category for photo excellence. Fogg followed a 2009 student body presidential candidate during campaigning in the spring. He put together a story using his photographs and captions. Griffin, a graduate student in visualization science from New Braunfels, received $100 in third place in the cartooning awards.

The ACP Photo Excellence contest is co-sponsored by the National Press Photographers Association and honors student photographers in five categories: General News, Spot News, Feature, Sports, Environmental Portrait and Picture Story. This is the second year that ACP has accepted entries through online submission. Entries are judged based on technical quality, artistic value and journalistic content. There were a total of 849 entries.

More than 170 entries were submitted in the cartooning awards, co-sponsored by the Universal Press Syndicate, the largest independent newspaper syndicate in the world. Cartoon entries were judged based on reader impact, community importance, artistic quality, originality and clarity of message.

"Whether from behind the lens of a camera or at the end of a pen, Chris and Stephen are both very talented at their respective trades," 2009-2010 Editor in Chief Amanda Casanova said. "We are proud that they were they honored for their quality work. The Battalion is grateful for their dedication and excellence in all they produce."

The Battalion received the 2008 Pacemaker Award and was a finalist for the award three times between 1991 and 1997.


Texas Intercollegiate Press Association awards

KERRVILLE, Texas — Student journalists were recognized for their achievements at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association conference March 25-27 in Kerrville, Texas.

Members of The Battalion staff received several awards for their coverage of President Barack Obama's visit to Aggieland and the Bonfire anniversary. The team received accolades for the interactivity used for the Obama coverage. Judges placed the online coverage as first place among universities of the same size. The team received first place for the best use of a multimedia package of "Bonfire 10 years later." Calli Turner, new media chief for fall 2009, was the team leader on the Bonfire project. Matt Woolbright, sophomore sociology major from San Antonio, Texas, lead the team that produced the 20-page special section "Bonfire: Remembering the Stack" that received a second place honor.

Christian Hughes, new media desk assistant for 2009, received recognition for his work on "Rudder's Rangers Quad Assault," which was filled with natural sounds of the event. "It's a huge honor to recieve this award. It really feels good to be recognized and bring home the top honors to A&M," said the junior TCMS major from Grapevine, Texas.

After following a source several weeks, Kevin Alexander, class of 2009, produced an in-depth look at a student who suffered deadly blows in a fight and survived to talk about it. In "Shattered," Alexander gave students a glimpse into what it's like to reboot the brain as Don Mathews learned to walk, talk and think again after facing death and a coma. Alexander now works as the sports design editor for the Victoria Advocate in Victoria, Texas.

The 2009 summer team of The Battalion received top awards for the coverage of the New Student Conferences and the Dining Services issues with the renovations of the MSC. Karen Cruickshanks, senior visual studies major, and Chris Griffin, visualization studies graduate student, won first place for the June 10 issue of "Finding Aggieland." "I was lucky to work with a talented and diligent team of artists," said Cruickshanks, a senior visualization studies major. "It was a great environment this summer and a collaborative effort between all the editors, artists and writers to produce solid design." Jason Staggs, senior history major, received first place for the Aug. 4 opinion page design. "I am so proud of everything the summer staff accomplished," said Kalee Bumguardner, summer 2009 editor in chief. "They all came in every day and put in their all to making the best issue possible. The closing of the MSC was a huge event for everyone, and I think they did an excellent job covering it fully. It's no surprise to me that they won awards; they deserved it," the senior junior agriculture journalism major said.

Ten staff members attended the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association convention. They were among 476 student journalists from across the state and among 47 schools. Samantha Johnson, class of 2010 and city reporter, competed in the on-site news writing competition and received third place for her story. The staff members attended sessions and they've already shared tips and suggestions with other staff members. The staff took home multiple awards in in-depth reporting, design, illustration and special packaging.

Recommended: Articles that may interest you

Be the first to comment on this article! Log in to Comment

You must be logged in to comment on an article. Not already a member? Register now

Log In